The season will get underway with a packed grid at Silverstone. Photo: Jon Elsey

The BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship starts the new season as it finished the last, with another fantastic grid of Mk1s!

An amazing fifty-five will line up for qualifying on the National circuit for rounds one and two of the 2015 season. With so many cars entered we will again be running the A and B race system which means four action packed Mk1 races over the course of the weekend.

With such a huge field, it is difficult to predict who will claim the championship trophy when the season concludes at Donington Park in October. From last year’s top-ten, the first three have moved onto the SuperCup and Charlie Charman is pursuing other interests. That leaves Sam Smith as the highest placed driver from the last campaign (5th) so he will surely be amongst the lead group, and he certainly has the experience to get the job done.

The same can be said of the drivers who completed the top ten in the 2014 points table; Darron Lewis, Simon Goddard, Paul Bishop, Simon Baldwin and Clive Powles are all back for more this year and each one will be confident of building on their respective successes of last season.

However, all of the above will have to keep a close watch on Brian Chandler. The Suffolk driver has plenty of race wins to his name and would surely have challenged champion James Blake-Baldwin if he had been able to commit to a full season.

Mixed in amongst the old-hands, are sixteen newcomers who will make their championship debuts here at Silverstone. So a very warm welcome to Courtney Milnes, Matt Pickford, Ivan Leary, Paul Austin, Alex Soar, Matthew Simmonite, Paul Bateman, Davie Birrell, Nick Riley, Anthony Hutchins, Pengfei Chen, Brian Trott, Patrick Collins, Drew Forster, Euan Milne and William Wood.

The full entry list is as follows:

2          David Staples                         

3          Ben Tuck                                

4          David Henderson                               

5          Richard Collins                                   

6          Gary Hufford                          

7          Courtney Milnes                                

8          Michael Fisk                           

9          Simon Baldwin                                   

12        Harry Deane                          

15        Andrew Caird                         

16        Matt Pickford                         

17        Russ Lindsay                           

18        Clive Powles                           

21        Henry Lawson                        

22        Chris Hart                               

23        Martin Tolley                         

25        Ivan Leary                              

30        Paul Austin                             

31        Sam Smith                              

32        Alex Soar                                

33        Jon Hughes                             

34        Matthew Tasker                                 

35        Matthew Simmonite                          

36        Simon Ricketts                                   

41        Kevin Brent                            

42        Paul Bateman                        

44        Paul Bishop                            

46        Simon Goddard                                  

50        Christian Young                                  

51        David Birrell                           

55        Graham Colby                        

61        Lewis Field                             

62        William Stephenson                           

63        Oliver Allwood                                   

66        Nick Riley                               

68        Paul Tucker                            

69        Simon Drinkall                                   

75        Bruce Carter                          

76        Brian Chandler                                   

77        John Cockburn-Evans                         

80        Anthony Hutchins                               

81        Richard Breland                                 

82        William Wood                        

86        Pengfei Chen                          

88        Brian Trott                             

96        Michael Lawson                                 

99        Patrick Collins                        

101      Simon Woods                         

105      Roger Chesneau                                 

111      Danny Green                          

118      Carl Andrew                           

177      Drew Forster/Euan Milne                              

188      Jake Simpson                          

285      Darron Lewis                          

tba       Piers Chandler                                   

The weather for the weekend looks like it will be cool and cloudy. Full details can be found at SILVERSTONE WEATHER

The splits for the the practice groups and entry lists for the other races at the meeting can be viewed at Silverstone National.

Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.