Huge grid for Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit

Darron Lewis will be one of sixty-three drivers tackling the GP track. Photo: Jon Elsey

The prospect of racing on the iconic Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit has produced a fantastic entry for rounds two and three of the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship which takes place this weekend as part of the prestigious Blancpain GT meeting.....

Sixty Mk1s will arrive at the Kent circuit, all eager to race in what will be the Championships debut on the 2.433 mile configuration. With so many MX-5s to accommodate the entries will be split into three groups, with each driver racing in two of the three races.

So, who to look out for this weekend? The top three in the points table – Simon Baldwin, Ben Short and Darron Lewis, will certainly up at the sharp end but there are many drivers capable of mixing it with them, including Brian Chandler and Sam Smith.

However they will all have to keep a sharp eye out for the 2014 champion James Blake-Baldwin. James has moved up to the Mk3 SuperCup this season but the lure of the GP circuit has brought him back for one more shot at Mk1 glory. In addition to James, Will Blackwell-Chambers, Piers Chandler and Ben Hancy are also racing as ‘guest’ drivers so won’t score points.

 The current entry list is:

 2         David Staples                                             

3          Ben Tuck                                         

4          David Henderson                                      

5          Richard Collins                                          

6          Gary Hufford                                               

7          Courtney Milnes                                        

8          Michael Fisk                                    

9          Simon Baldwin                                          

12        Harry Deane                                               

14        Ben Short                                        

16        Matt Pickford                                              

17        Russ Lindsay                                             

18        Clive Powles                                               

19        James Blake-Baldwin                                          

21        Henry Lawson                                           

22        Chris Hart                                        

23        Martin Tolley                                               

25        Ivan Leary                                       

29        Adam Craig                                     

30        Paul Austin                                     

31        Sam Smith                                       

32        Alex Soar                                         

33        Jon Hughes                                    

35        Matthew Simmonite                                              

36        Simon Ricketts                                          

37        James Harris                                              

41        Kevin Brent                                     

42        Paul Bateman                                             

43        Will Blackwell-Chambers                                    

44        Paul Bishop                                    

46        Simon Goddard                                         

51        David Birrell                                    

55        Graham Colby                                            

61        Lewis Field                                      

62        William Stephenson/Roy Stephenson                                    

63        Oliver Allwood                                            

66        Nick Riley                                        

68        Paul Tucker                                    

69        Simon Drinkall                                           

75        Bruce Carter/Guy Carter                                     

76        Brian Chandler                                          

77        John Cockburn-Evans                                        

78        Kevin Dengate                                           

80        Anthony Hutchins                                     

81        Richard Breland                                        

82        William Wood                                             

86        Pengfei Chen                                             

88        Stuart Symonds                                        

91        Steve Worrad                                             

96        Michael Lawson                                        

99        Patrick Collins                                            

101     Simon Woods                                            

111     Danny Green                                              

114     Ben Hancy                                      

117     Michael Close                                             

118     Carl Andrew                                    

177     Drew Forster/Euan Milne                                    

188     Jake Simpson                                            

285     Darron Lewis

666     Piers Chandler       

The weather at Brands Hatch looks like it could be chilly and wet for both qualifying sessions on Saturday, but Sunday promises to be warmer and more importantly, dry all day. A full forecast can be found at Brands Hatch weather 

Full information about the meeting can be found at Blancpain GT Weekend


Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.