Who will be King of the Castle?

Ben Tuck has impressed so far this season. Photo: Jon Elsey

Fresh from contesting rounds three and four on the Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit just two weeks ago the massed ranks of the MX-5 Mk1s descend on Castle Combe on Bank Holiday Monday for the next episode in what is shaping up to be a fantastic battle for the 2015 title.

Although he didn’t score a race win at Brands, the consistency of Simon Baldwin earned him two second place finishes and so the Reigate driver arrives at the fast Wiltshire circuit with an  increased lead at the top of the points table.

However, with a hundred points available for a race win Darron Lewis, who was a Brands Hatch race winner, is in hot pursuit. Meanwhile, there is a less than orderly queue of rivals forming up behind Lewis, all determined to chip away at Baldwin’s lead. Chief amongst those is Bedfordshire teenager Ben Tuck who impressed at Brands Hatch.

We have four new drivers making their Championship debuts at Combe; so a warm welcome to Nick Ponting, Ambrogio Perfetti and Matthew Cox, who are all running with Blendini, plus Duncan Carlisle. Returning to the Mk1 fold for the first time in almost four years is Epsom's Laurie Grant, although his car did have a run out at Brands Hatch in the hands of reigning champion James Blake-Baldwin.

The full entry list is as follows;

3              Ben Tuck                                                             

4              David Henderson                                                            

6              Gary Hufford                                                    

7              Courtney Milnes                                                             

8              Michael Fisk                                                      

9              Simon Baldwin                                                 

10           Nick Ponting                                                      

11           Ambrogio Perfetti                                                          

13           Laurie Grant                                                      

16           Matt Pickford                                                   

17           Russ Lindsay                                                      

18           Clive Powles                                                      

21           Duncan Carlisle                                                

22           Chris Hart                                                           

23           Martin Tolley                                                    

25           Ivan Leary                                                          

29           Adam Craig                                                        

30           Paul Austin                                                        

31           Sam Smith                                                          

32           Alex Soar                                                            

34           Matthew Tasker                                                              

36           Simon Ricketts                                                 

37           James Harris                                                      

41           Kevin Brent                                                       

42           Paul Bateman                                                   

44           Paul Bishop                                                        

46           Simon Goddard                                                               

55           Graham Colby                                                  

61           Steven Andrew                                                               

62           William Stephenson                                                       

63           Oliver Allwood                                                 

66           Nick Riley                                                            

68           Paul Tucker                                                        

69           Simon Drinkall                                                  

75           Bruce Carter/Guy Carter                                                              

76           Brian Chandler                                                 

78           Kevin Dengate                                                 

80           Anthony Hutchins                                                           

82           William Wood                                                   

86           Pengfei Chen                                                    

96           Michael Lawson                                                               

99           Patrick Collins                                                   

101         Simon Woods                                                   

111         Danny Green                                                    

118         Carl Andrew                                                      

146         Matthew Cox                                                   

177         Drew Forster/Euan Milne                                                            

285         Darron Lewis                                                     


With 48 cars entered we will again be running the group system so there will be four races over the course of the day.   

The weather at Combe on Monday looks like it shouldn’t cause too many problems as it is forecast to be dry but cloudy all day. You can see a detailed forecast at Castle Combe weather  

 The timetable, Final Instructions and entry list can be found at Castle Combe Raceday  

Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.