On the road to Rockingham

Brian Chandler will be looking to match his impressive points haul from Combe. Photo: Jon Elsey

Less than three weeks on from the challenge offered by the ultra quick Castle Combe circuit, the drivers now face up to the different problems and set-ups required to tackle the intricacies of the Rockingham Motor Speedway in rounds six and seven of the 2015 championship.

Although he still leads the points table Simon Baldwin has gone four races without a win so he will be determined to add another victory to his sole triumph, achieved at Silverstone in round 2 over Easter Weekend. On the plus side, championships are generally won by consistency and Simon certainly has that in his locker.

Brian Chandler accrued the most points at Combe on the May Bank coming away with a healthy haul of 200 courtesy of a win, a second place plus the fastest lap. Sam Smith also scored well with 198 and has moved up behind Darron Lewis into third place in the overall standings. Ben Tuck is sitting comfortably in fourth just ahead of Chandler, who is suffering from the points he lost at Brands. The winners of both of Saturday’s rounds are likely to come from this group of five, but you never know what is in store in the Mk1 championship!

We have just one debutant this meeting; Greg Edwards, who hails from Adelaide in Australia, will be going out in Carl Andrew’s car. Good luck and a warm welcome Greg!

The full entry list is as follows;

3              Ben Tuck                                                             

4              David Henderson                                                            

5              Richard Collins                                                  

6              Gary Hufford                                                    

7              Courtney Milnes                                                             

8              Michael Fisk                                                      

9              Simon Baldwin                                                 

13           Laurie Grant                                                      

16           Matt Pickford                                                   

18           Clive Powles                                                      

23           Martin Tolley                                                    

25           Ivan Leary                                                          

31           Sam Smith                                                          

32           Alex Soar                                                            

33           Jon Hughes                                                        

34           Matthew Tasker                                                              

35           Matthew Simmonite                                                     

42           Paul Bateman                                                   

44           Paul Bishop                                                        

46           Simon Goddard                                                               

51           David Birrell                                                       

55           Graham Colby                                                  

61           Lewis Field                                                         

62           William Stephenson                                                       

66           Nick Riley                                                            

68           Paul Tucker                                                        

69           Simon Drinkall                                                  

75           Bruce Carter/Guy Carter                                                              

76           Brian Chandler                                                 

78           Kevin Dengate                                                 

80           Anthony Hutchins                                                           

86           Pengfei Chen                                                    

88           Stuart Symonds                                                               

99           Patrick Collins                                                   

101         Simon Woods                                                   

111         Danny Green                                                    

117         Michael Close                                                   

118         Gregory Edwards                                                            

177         Euan Milne                                                        

188         Jake Simpson                                                    

285         Darron Lewis                                                     

With 44 cars entered we will again be running the group system so there will be four races over the course of the day.  

The weather at Rockingham on Saturday looks like it shouldn’t cause too many problems as after some light rain in the morning the rest of the day is forecast to be dry but cloudy and not too warm. You can see a detailed forecast at Rockingham weather   

The timetable, Final Instructions and entry list can be found at Rockingham Raceday  

Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.