Cadwell calling!

Darron Lewis is one of a pack of drivers chasing down Simon Baldwin. Photo: Jon Elsey

The BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship moves into the second half of the 2015 season this weekend with plenty of points up for grabs, courtesy of a triple-header. As with the first half of the season the numbers continue to impress, with 54 drivers reporting for rounds 9, 10 and 11 at Lincolnshire’s mini Nurburgring.

Guildford’s Simon Goddard put down a marker at the Rockingham meeting five weeks ago which said that he is very much in the frame when it comes to title contenders for 2015. Simon left a wet and cold Rockingham Motor Speedway with an impressive haul of 202 points courtesy of second place in the first race, victory in the second plus an extra two points for the fastest lap.

Despite Goddard’s Rockingham success, the most realistic challenge to leader Simon Baldwin is sure to come from the experienced trio of Darron Lewis, Sam Smith and Brian Chandler. With 306 points available in total this is the weekend the challengers need to make their move if they are to prevent Baldwin from claiming his first Mazda title.

We have an impressive six new drivers making their championships debuts this weekend, for what will surely be a baptism of fire! So a warm welcome goes out to Nigel Hudson, Tim Penton, Bryn Griffiths, Simon Orange, Chris Mills and Oscar Rovelli.

The full entry list is as follows;

3          Ben Tuck                                

4          David Henderson                               

5          Richard Collins                                   

6          Gary Hufford                          

7          Courtney Milnes                                

8          Michael Fisk                           

9          Simon Baldwin                                   

10        Ambrogio Perfetti                              

11        Nigel Hudson                          

12        Harry Deane                          

13        Tim Penton                             

16        Matt Pickford                         

17        Russ Lindsay                           

18        Clive Powles                           

22        Chris Hart                               

23        Martin Tolley                         

25        Ivan Leary                              

29        Adam Craig                            

30        Paul Austin                             

31        Sam Smith                              

34        Matthew Tasker                                 

35        Matthew Simmonite                          

36        Simon Ricketts                                   

37        James Harris                          

41        Kevin Brent                            

42        Paul Bateman                        

44        Paul Bishop                            

46        Simon Goddard                                  

50        Christian Young                                  

51        David Birrell                           

55        Graham Colby                        

56        Bryn Griffiths                         

61        Lewis Field                             

62        William Stephenson                           

66        Simon Orange                        

68        Paul Tucker                            

69        Simon Drinkall                                   

75        Bruce Carter / Guy Carter                             

76        Brian Chandler                                   

77        John Cockburn-Evans                         

78        Kevin Dengate                        

80        Anthony Hutchins                               

88        Brian Trott                             

96        Michael Lawson                                 

99        Patrick Collins                        

101      Simon Woods                         

111      Danny Green                          

117      Michael Close                        

118      Carl Andrew                           

146      Oscar Rovelli                          

160      Chris Mills                              

177      Euan Milne/Drew Forster                              

188      Jake Simpson                          

285      Darron Lewis    


The weather forecast for the weekend predicts two dry days with moderate temperatures in the late teens, which shouldn’t cause any problems. The Met Office forecast for the next few days can be viewed at CADWELL WEATHER

Meanwhile, the timetable, Finals and entry list can all be found at CADWELL RACE WEEKEND

Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.