Going West to Oulton

Sam Smith will want to continue his strong form from Cadwell Park (Photo: Jon Elsey)

From one winding circuit to another, the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship heads west from Cadwell Park and moves on to the equally as challenging Oulton Park in Cheshire for rounds 12 and 13. A healthy 48 entries are expected to take to the track this Saturday for the double-header and thanks to some interesting results last time out, we now have a serious championship battle on our hands.

It was a clean sweep of victories for Brian Chandler at Cadwell, meaning that he now moves to just 14 points behind leader Simon Baldwin, who lost valuable points with retirement in race 3 despite finishing behind Chandler in 2nd in the first two. Baldwin’s best result here last year was 4th in race 2 while Chandler secured two 2nd places. Given the fact that Cadwell and Oulton are two circuits that feature very similar characteristics, it could potentially be more of the same from Chandler this weekend, provided he keeps out of trouble.

Hot on their heels will be the regular bunch, including Darron Lewis who continues to show a fine display of consistent results this season. 7th, 5th and 2nd respectively provided a strong points haul from Cadwell and that consistency sits him 3rd in the championship, only 8 points back from Chandler giving every chance for Darron to cause an upset. Additionally Sam Smith, Ben Tuck and Simon Goddard are always a formidable trio to be reckoned with, so expect them to be in and amongst the fight for the podium spots.

The entry list for this weekend is as follows:

3 – Ben Tuck
4 – David Henderson
5 – Richard Collins
6 – Gary Hufford
7 – Courtney Milnes
8 – Michael Fisk
9 – Simon Baldwin
11 – Nigel Hudson
12 – Harry Deane
16 – Matt Pickford
17 – Russ Lindsay
18 – Clive Powles
23 – Martin Tolley
25 – Ivan Leary
29 – Adam Craig
30 – Paul Austin
31 – Sam Smith
32 – Alex Soar
33 – Jon Hughes
34 – Matthew Tasker
35 – Matthew Simmonite
37 – James Harris
41 – Kevin Brent
42 – Paul Bateman
44 – Paul Bishop
46 – Simon Goddard
50 – Christian Young
51 – David Birrell
55 – Graham Colby
62 – William Stephenson
65  - Amy Barker
66 – Nick Riley
68 – Paul Tucker
69 – Simon Drinkall
75 – Bruce Carter / Guy Carter
76 – Brian Chandler
77 – John Cockburn-Evans
80 – Anthony Hutchins
81 – Richard Breland
88 – Brian Trott
99 – Patrick Collins
101 – Simon Woods
111 – Danny Green
160 – Chris Mills
177 – Drew Forster / Euan Milne
185 – Garry Townsend
188 – Jake Simpson
285 – Darron Lewis

The weather forecast doesn’t look too amazing for Saturday to be honest. Heavy rain is expected all day with temperatures not set to go any higher than 18 degrees. That said, it shouldn’t stop the drivers from tackling Oulton’s undulations and winding corners, whatever the weather. You can find a fully detailed weather forecast from the Met Office at OULTON PARK WEATHER.

This weekend’s timetable, final instructions and entry list can be found at OULTON PARK RACEDAY.

Scott Woodwiss

Next Race

Snetterton 300 - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.