The biggest entry of the season so far gets ready to return to Silverstone - Photo: Jon Elsey

The BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship now moves into the second half of the 2018 season after an intriguing opening four meetings. Throughout Brands Hatch, Snetterton, Cadwell Park and Oulton Park, the racing has been close, intense and very competitive and through it all, some main championship contenders are now starting to emerge. The Silverstone National circuit will play host to more than 50 Mk1s as we get set for the most significant number of entries of the season so far.

The primary battle at the head of the field has been all about two particular teams – Mike Comber Racing and AB Motorsport. So far, MCR has had the overriding advantage for most of the season with defending champion Will Blackwell-Chambers currently at the top of the points table. He secured a place on each step of the podium back at Oulton Park, the victory there marking his fourth of the season to go alongside his hattrick at the opening rounds at Brands Hatch in March. Since then, he’s only been off the podium twice, both times come at Snetterton, and this has helped him establish an 18 point lead over teammate Samuel Smith and a further 8 point advantage over team boss Mike Comber in 3rd. Both Smith and Comber have visited the top step at least once this season proving that all three of their leading drivers are more than capable of dominating races outright.

With that being said, things haven’t entirely been their way for the entire season. With AB Motorsport continually hunting them down, Ali Bray’s drivers have made sure that none of the MCR trio have been allowed to relax for one moment. Last year’s vice-champion Oliver Allwood made his mark with a sensational trio of wins of his own at Snetterton, while John Langridge upset the form book at Cadwell Park by driving superbly in the last Group A race to take his first MX-5 win. Brian Trott is another who has come desperately close to a victory himself but has picked up his fair share of podiums and top 5s along the way along with leading races at various points. Surely it’s a case of when rather than if it happens this season as the pace is there. All that’s needed is just a little more good fortune.

With all six drivers mentioned above locking out the top six places in the standings, the rest of the top 10 is populated by a mix of what you could class as the usual suspects based on their form this season. Charlie Burge, Stephen Foden, Martin Tolley and Jason Greatrex all make up the “best of the rest” in the top 10. All but Foden have made at least one appearance in the top 5 so far this year, with Greatrex picking up a superb 3rd place after a crazy last-gasp finish to Snetterton’s second race, followed by missing out on victory by mere milliseconds in the third to Allwood. Tolley, in particular, is also a frontrunner in the highly competitive Masters sub-championship for the more “experienced” drivers in the field and leads the way in that contest from Clive Powles and Simon Orange.

Once again, many of the usual suspects are all back for more with Teddy Clark, Adam Bessell, Lewis Cannon, Harry Deane, Sebastian Fisher and Marcus Bailey are the primary names to look out for on track as all are capable of excellent results and have shown flashes of exact pace at times. Amongst the rest of the stacked entry, there’s a brilliant influx of new and returning drivers too. Orlando Lindsay, Christopher Ginn and Luke Souch make reappearances, while Scott Leach is another familiar face that has decided to come back to BRSCC shores after a while away. Also, we say welcome to a host of new names with Chi Mung, David Rickards, Hector Hurst and Chris Wilson all making their debuts – great to have you on the grid!

Over 50 cars across two groups mean six races of non-stop BRSCC Mazda MX-5 action from start to finish, so make sure you don’t miss any of it this weekend!

Scott Woodwiss

Next Race

Donington Park - 22nd - 23rd Aug 2020

Last Race

Cadwell Park 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Joe Wiggin 200 200
2 Oliver Allwood 198 198
3 Will Blackwell-Chambers 194 194