Langridge poses with his championship trophy and co-ordinator Mandy Andrew - Photo: Jon Elsey

It was celebration time for John Langridge as he attended the recent BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Night of Champions at the Radisson Blu East Midlands Hotel near Derby to be officially crowned champion for the 2019 season.

John managed to capture the title after a season long battle with double defending champion Will Blackwell-Chambers, having traded wins and podium places all throughout the year with the #1. The second half of the season mostly saw Langridge outscore Blackwell-Chambers, and in a thrilling final weekend at Silverstone it was down to John to pick up the win in the final race of the year, stealing a last lap victory to seal the deal in style.

Blackwell-Chambers himself had a stronger start to the season after he captured wins at Pembrey, Cadwell Park and Anglesey, but in the second half he had to fight for every result he could get. Continuing the seemingly eternal struggle with Langridge over results, he was always in the mix for the podium places but fortunes didn't entirely end up going his way in the end. Nonetheless, he's sure to be back for 2020 to reclaim his crown and the #1 on the door.

One man that effectively owned the second half of the season was 3rd placed man in the standings Joe Wiggin, who also earned himself the Rookie of the Year accolade as the best placed first year driver making their debut in the championship. After taking two 3rd places at the Brands Hatch opener, Wiggin took the next couple of meetings to settle into his new surroundings after a few years prior racing in the BMW Compact Cup. It was after the summer break when racing returned at Snetterton that he was able to really able to flex his muscles, as he would go onto a win streak that was almost unbroken. In the subsequent nine races in the next three meetings, Wiggin would score victory in eight of them to rocket up the points table to an eventual 3rd place. Given his later season form, Joe should certainly be a driver to watch out for in 2020 when he'll certainly be a favourite to put on a championship charge.

In addition, Jason Greatrex was also confirmed as the Masters champion for the year, beating former double champ Martin Tolley who ended up 2nd and Marcus Bailey who rounded off the podium in the final standings with 3rd place.

The MX-5 Championship now heads into the off season, firmly looking ahead to 2020. We say a massive thank you to all 116 drivers that registered and all those that raced with us across the year, and we can't wait to get next season underway!

Next Race

Donington Park - 1st - 2nd Aug 2020

Last Race

There have been no races in 2020 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2020 yet.