The new MX-5 racing season is all set to get underway! - Photo: Jon Elsey

Strap yourselves in, everyone – it’s time to go Mazda MX-5 racing once more! The 2020 BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship is ready to get back on track for the opening rounds of the new season, as the drivers and teams return to the sight of the 2019 season finale with Silverstone’s International circuit once again utilised, this time marking the start of a campaign that looks set to be full of memorable moments.

One driver who won’t be back to retain his crown is John Langridge, as last year’s Mk1 champion moves up to the MX-5 SuperCup for this season. That means the potential prospect of a new number one, provided a certain double champion doesn’t get his hands on the trophy first. Will Blackwell-Chambers enters the year with Mike Comber Racing once again, fired up to win back the crown he had to vacate in 2019, and with plenty of work over the winter his aim will be to start in the same fashion as he did back in his title winning years of 2017 and 2018. But even though his biggest rival from twelve months ago won’t be giving him trouble, there’s plenty of others that certainly will.

Joe Wiggin made an instant impact on his MX-5 debut at Brands Hatch this time last year, before he went on a rampage in the second half of the season to win eight out of the first nine races after the summer break. Now he’s dialled into the car, the series and the competition, a run for the championship has to be the one and only aim on both his and Tucker Motorsport’s mind. Other drivers who know what the winning feeling is like are Oliver Allwood and Brian Trott, two names from AB Motorsport’s monster 10 car outfit for this season. Trott took his first win at Brands Hatch in 2019, while Allwood came agonisingly close at Donington Park, but has been able to best the likes of Tom Roche in the past and must surely be ready to visit the top step again. Also, Blackwell-Chambers could even find strong competition from within his own team, as 2018 vice champion Samuel Smith returns for a full season assault once again and is determined to get back to winning ways.

Then there are those who will certainly be breakout stars in 2020 should they find fortunes working in their favour. Steve Foden was another that could have won at Donington last season, but had to settle for a 2nd place and goes into 2020 on the front foot ready to do battle. Jack Brewer was able to develop his pace substantially racing alongside Wiggin in the same team and he too is no stranger to the podium. Both Matt Luff and Fraser Fenwick, teammates at AB, shared a win apiece on this very track at the end of last year and could do it again if their form carries over. Add into the mix Masters champion Jason Greatrex, Charlie Mugglestone, Matt Pollard, Martin Tolley and even the returning Paul Bateman, and you have all the ingredients for what could be a titanic battle at the front of the field.

Looking down the registration list, there’s plenty of familiar faces back for more in 2020 and as always, a new season also brings an influx of fresh faces tackling their first season of MX-5 racing. The most notable of the newcomers is without doubt former British GT champion Marco Attard, who swaps a GT3 race car for a Mk1 Mazda and will line up alongside his two sons Sam and Oliver, both of which made their debuts last year. Other new names to introduce include Jordan Pimley, Chris Watts, Beau Parry (driving Langridge’s 2019 title winning car), Thomas Holland, Jake Taplin, Stephen New, Luke Pullen, Matthew Hallam and Charlotte Fox, all of whom will be getting to grips with the cut and thrust style of racing this championship provides. Welcome to the grid, one and all!

Scott Woodwiss


Next Race

Croft - 15th - 16th May 2021

Last Race

There have been no races in 2021 yet.

Current Standings

There have been no races in 2021 yet.